Happy New Year! A Reflection of the Decade

I hope everyone had a wonderful holiday season! It’s crazy to think that another decade has gone by. I think self-reflection is a very important tool and was sitting on my couch one night thinking of where I’ve been in the past ten years. It made me realize I’m getting old!

In the year 2000 I was in Grades 9/10. My best friend was Rachel and we were inseparable. We went on an Outdoor Education camp out where we had to build lean to’s. I also kicked ass in track that year.

In 2001 I was in Grade 10/11. I got my license in January and was ready to hit the road with my mom’s beloved “Saturnator”.  At this point I was still figure skating and coaching CanSkate.

In 2002 I was in Grade 11/12. I went on the Marine Biology trip where I met my future husband, Tony. Although we had instant chemistry we didn’t start dating for a couple years. I also went to Ottawa for the Encounters with Canada exchange and had a great time visiting the Parliament Buildings, going to museums and meeting new people. I quit skating in 2002 and regret it now.  I also got MY first car, which we still have. His name is Reddy – he’s a Nissan 200SX ( a very manly car with Hawaiian Flower stickers on the back windows). Reddy is now Tony’s car.

In 2003 I graduated high school and went on to my first year of University. I went on a fabulous graduation trip to Hawaii with my mom in February. I moved to the city that summer and had my first experience living with roommates ( I ended up moving out the following semester to live by myself in a basement suite). I was studying Management in University with a major in Marketing. At the time I really had no idea what that was, but it sounded cool and chic.

In 2004 I finished my first year of University in good standing! I, unlike many others, was not on Academic Probation (or AP as we fondly call it). This was also the year that Tony and I started dating. My best friend Chelsey decided it was time to hook Tony and I up for good.  We started ‘seeing each other’ in November, but don’t have an exact day we started dating so we went with November 12. I also moved into another house with some new roommates.

In 2005 Tony pretty much moved in with me and the roommates. We were still doing the student thing and enjoying getting to know each other again. I spilled a huge movie pop in Tony’s CD Deck, causing it to seize with stickiness, never shut again as well as causing the battery to occasionally drain.  I changed my mind and decided I should major in Marketing & International Management, therefore started taking spanish classes.

In 2006 I turned 21! This was also the year we Albertans were given our $400 ( AKA Ralphbucks). My mom, my brother Braeden and I all went to San Francisco to celebrate my day of birth. My mom is one of my best travelling companions. We move at the same pace – always and fast. We’re no loungers. We need to see things when we travel.  We even ditched Braeden at the hotel one day to go to China town. Tony and I decided to move into a condo by ourselves  this year and thought it would be a good time to get a puppy. We got our little puppy baby Shlubby that fall. This was also the year that Tony, Dan, Mandy ( an ex-girlfriend he hoped would become his girlfriend again…. long story) and I went to Portugal and England. Tony proposed to me in a rocky cove on the coast of Portugal on Christmas Day. We had a fantastic time travelling through Portugal in our “Wagonator” station wagon, almost driving off cliffs, spending over 150 euros at a pizza joint and learning about history.

In 2007 I spent the majority of my time planning our wedding. I was obsessed with wedding planning, still in school and working 19 hours per week. I switched my major again- this time I decided to major in Marketing and Finance. Basically wedding planning consumed my life in 2007. In May Tony and I decided it was time to buy a house. One day we found a great house that suited our needs. We moved in on June 15th.I began my time volunteering with the YWCA Board in 2007 and thus began my intense love for the non-profit sector.  I also became great friends with Shayla that year. Even though we went to High School together, we never talked before that summer.

In 2008 I turned 23. I went to Aruba with my mom a week before my wedding. My Baba passed away about a month before my wedding from a disease I work daily to fight. I married the love of my life, Tony on June 28th and we went on a two-week honeymoon to Hawaii. I switched my major again  for the final time to HR with a minor in Social Responsibility. Tony graduated from University with a B.Sc and was given a great opportunity ( and a lot of cash) to do a Masters degree. I was fortunate to get a full-time position at the Cancer Society doing a job I absolutely love.  I continued to volunteer at the YWCA, but now rather than being a director I became a VP.

In 2009 I graduated University! It took me a long time, but it was great to finally be done. Lots of people ask what I ended up with and I received a Bachelors of Management Majoring in Human Resources and Labour Relations with a minor in Social Responsibility. It was nice to be able to just work rather than having to work and go to school. I was  still at the YWCA and I’m sure I will continue to be until my term is up 4 years down the road. In February we bought a second puppy and named him Oliver. Oliver is Shlubby’s full brother and they love each other very much! In June we celebrated our first wedding anniversary by going to Waterton National Parks to do some outdoorsy type stuff. Tony started working as an interim manager for a research facility at the University in January and was hired full-time in July. He was also writing his thesis at the same time. I was so proud of him for scoring a job that he loves so much. My Dad had a heart attack in July and underwent surgery to put in a stent. In 2009 Dad managed to change his lifestyle and is now living much healthier and is looking great. In September we went to Scotland for 2 weeks and had a great time driving around in the “Silver Bullet”. We didn’t eat haggis, but did eat black pudding and tatties. In the summer I started getting an itch to go back to school and decided that 4 months after graduating I needed to go back to school for Social Work. In December I began my application to go to school part-time. December also was a great month for my brother. Braeden tried out and made the volleyball club, allowing him to play with people who share his passion and opening up doors for the future.  2009 was the first year Tony and I officially started living like grown ups with real jobs, debt ( that you have to pay back!), and forming our own little family with our two puppies.

2010 has much to hold and I can’t wait to see what will happen next for Tony and I. Many things have changed over the past decade and with the good and bad I’ve grown a lot and am truly happy with my life. Life may not always be glamorous, but I really enjoy doing my job and helping people, hanging out at home with my dogs & husband, cooking up a storm in my smallish kitchen, learning new things and travelling to new destinations.

What did you do this past decade?

2 thoughts on “Happy New Year! A Reflection of the Decade

  1. Hi Honey
    What a great way to keep memories fresh!!! You are truly awesome with everything you do – I am so proud of everything you have accomplished in life!! I wish I had your energy!! I definitely will be reading your blog on a daily basis.
    Love you lots
    Mom

  2. Awh, very nostalgic. A decade ago I was just another come-what-may type of kid, I’m eleven years old and still didn’t care about the world as long as I get to eat well, sleep well, go out with my friends and play dolls, etc. Sometimes thinking about it makes me not wanna go back to reality. Haha. I’ve done a lot in the past decade, and have changed a lot too. 🙂 Great post. And that’s sweet, @ your mom. Wish you all the best, Amy from Australia

    PS: You should update your blog! hehe 🙂 Amy @ Foodista

Leave a Reply

