Daring Cooks November Challenge – Sushi

Photobucket

The November 2009 Daring Cooks challenge was brought to you by Audax of Audax Artifex and Rose of The Bite Me Kitchen. They chose sushi as the challenge.

I’ve always loved seafood, but have to admit that it took me a while to warm up to the idea of eating sushi. My first experience with sushi was when I was about 16 years old. My parents and I went to visit some family friends who lived on Vancouver Island and they decided to make some homemade sushi for dinner one night. I became violently ill and blamed the sushi for years! Like the butterscotch chips from the meringue cookies, I developed a taste aversion to sushi.

I remember sushi became wildly popular when I was in high school and everyone was going for sushi all the time, but I couldn’t stomach the idea. Finally one day when I was in University a friend of mine convinced me to go. We stuck to the safe stuff- california rolls, ebi maki etc. Again, I became ill, but loved the taste and soon craved sushi! Sushi has come to be one of my absolute favorite foods. A good plate of sashimi is about the best thing ever!

I was extremely excited for the challenge this month since I had been planning on making sushi for the longest time and it just so happened to be one of my 101 things. Due to time constraints I wasn’t able to look for sushi grade fish and we went the safe way with the fully cooked seafood.

Photobucket

Clockwise starting at the top:

  • Crab nigiri,
  • shrimp nigiri,
  • dragon roll- smoked salmon,cream cheese, cucumber
  • ebi maki – shrimp, avocado, cucumber, mayo, black sesame seeds
  • california maki – crab, avocado, mayo, cucumber
  • philly roll – smoked salmon, cream cheese, cucumber
  • spiral roll – cream cheese, shrimp, avocado, cucumber, crab
  • california roll – crab, avocado, mayo, cucumber

Tony’s not as much of a raw fish person as I am and one of his favorite rolls in the philly roll so we definitely had to recreate it!
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

This was a delicious challenge and I’m so glad that I was able to take part!

3 thoughts on “Daring Cooks November Challenge – Sushi

  1. OMG I’m stunned so many types and so much of it very well done and so delicious looking also. And now you know how to make it superbly. Lovely work well done and bravo and kudos on your efforts. I especially like the philly roll with smoked salmon, cream cheese, cucumber. Cheers from Audax in Australia.

Leave a Reply

