Happy Birthday Oliver!

Photobucket

Photobucket

It was my little puppy-baby Oliver’s 1st birthday yesterday! I had my eye set on Oliver from the minute that the breeder’s posted his picture on their website.

I started thinking that we needed another puppy last Christmas, but when Tony told me that I had to choose between a present and the puppy I decided a present was more important (Sorry Ollie!). My birthday came at the end of January and I got the same response from Tony, “Present or Puppy.” I still wanted presents! Valentines Day came rolling around and by that time I was ready for our newest addition. It just so happened that Oliver was half price and came with ALL of his shots!

This time, unlike the time we picked up Shlubby, I had already chosen Oliver’s name. A lot of people ask how we settled on the name Shlubby. We kind of bought Shlubby on a whim and I was thinking of names/words I liked on the way to pick him up. Shlubble happened to be one of the words I made up. Since Tony’s Italian, we settled on Rocco Shlubble, but since then he has just become Shlubby.

In honour of Oliver’s 1st birthday I made him a special puppy birthday cupcake. The dogs seemed to really enjoy the cupcakes and gobbled them up quickly.

Penny Cupcakes

Source: Rachael Ray Magazine
Ingredients
2 very ripe bananas, mashed
1 carrot, grated, plus more for garnish
1 large egg
1/4 cup honey
4 cups whole wheat flour
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground allspice
1 teaspoon ground ginger
1 teaspoon baking powder
softened cream cheese
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease two 12-cup  muffin pans. IN a large bowl, mix together the mashed bananas, carrot, egg and honey; stir in 3 cups water.
2. In another large bowl, stir together the flour, cinnamon, allspice, ginger and baking powder; mix into the carrot mixture.
3. Fill each muffin cup about three-quarters full. Bake until firm and dry, about 45 minutes.  Let cool, then top each with a smear of cream cheese and grated carrots.

 

Photobucket
Oliver’s first day at home

PhotobucketOliver & Gizmo (Gizzard) this summer

Photobucket
Hanging out in the laundry basket

Photobucket
Playing with his toy

Photobucket
Ollie’s birthday Hat

Photobucket
Dan & Gizzard

Photobucket
It’s cake time!  They’re not exactly the best behaved, so Tony and Dan had to hold them back

Photobucket

PhotobucketThey all got a little bit too excited and tried to eat the cupcake whole.

Photobucket

Happy birthday little O!

Leave a Reply

