Raspberry Cider Vinegar

I had some fresh raspberries hanging around the fridge and thought it would be a good idea to use them up before they had to go to the compost bin. I wasn’t really feeling baking or cooking that day (shocking!) so I tried something easy.

In a clean glass canning jar I mixed the berries along with some apple cider vinegar and let it sit in the fridge for about 6 days.

Photobucket

After the 6 days that I let the vinegar steep, I drained the raspberries out using a fine sieve and dumped the liquid back in the jar and can be stored on the shelf like any other vinegar.

Photobucket

I was quite impressed with the gorgeous ruby red color that the liquid took on very quickly! So far I’ve only used my vinegar in a salad dressing. What else could I use it for?

Raspberry on Foodista

2 thoughts on “Raspberry Cider Vinegar

Leave a Reply

