Fall is in the Air…

Yesterday at work I was officially bitten by the fall bug. Fall has always been my favorite season and I’m patiently ( not really ) waiting for real fall weather. We’re still sitting above 30 degrees some days and I’m getting sick of it! The leaves are changing color, but the weather doesn’t match.

As I sat drinking my Non-Fat, No Whip, Extra Hot, Extra Foam Pumpkin Spice Latte ( that’s right, I need to make it more difficult than it has to be) at my desk listening to Norah Jones I started thinking about all the pumpkin possibilities – pumpkin chilli, pumpkin pie, pumpkin pie dip, carved pumpkins, pumpkin festivals….and the list goes on.

So today Tony and I went to the Farmer’s Market and picked up a huuuuge pumpkin for only $4.00! We also got a nice bouquet of dahlias for for only $5.00.  There’s a random pink one in the bouquet because the man at the booth gave us some extra ones while his wife wasn’t looking.

Photobucket

Photobucket

After the market we went shopping for wreath making supplies. I ended up getting a bunch of good stuff for 60% off at Michaels.

Photobucket
Shlubby and Oliver LOVED walking through my area on the living room floor! Tony’s feet happened to get in the way too.

Photobucket

Photobucket
I bought a plain twig-looking wreath and wrapped a leaf garland around it. After that I poked in some more random fall things and wired the smaller wreath onto the twig one to finish it off.

I used the fantastic wreath hanging method from Nesting Place.

Photobucket

Photobucket
Up close.  What do you think? Should I add something? Take something away?

I happened to buy way more fall stuff than I needed so I put some of it together in a vase. I think I need to add something more to it. What do you think I should do to make it look better?

Photobucket

I love doing holiday decorating projects! Where do you look for inspiration?

2 thoughts on “Fall is in the Air…

  1. That was an awesome wreath u made. May be everyone there is an expert in making one. I simply love the wreaths. Though I am no where related to its significance & celebrations, I ‘ve still loved it all my life. I usually purchase them here in India, during Christmas & let it decorate my entrance. I loved the one u made … simply outstanding.

    Ash………..
    (http://asha-oceanichope.blogspot.com/)

Leave a Reply

