Gocery Shopping

After I was emailed the recipe for the Energy Bars I happily decided that I needed to go to the grocery store to pick up some items to bake my newest healthier-than-a-cookie treat. While I was walking around the grocery store pushing my cart my mind began to wonder to my love for food and why I feel so passionate about it.

Simply, food grounds me. It relaxes and stimulates me simultaneously. I love the aromas, colors, and especially the tastes. During my times of high stress AKA: when I was in University, doing group projects, working 19 hr/week, and volunteering on 2 boards, I would stay up  until sometimes 2:00 – 3:00 in the morning baking. Loving to cook has its drawback – loving to eat.

Food is three-fold for me. Preparing, Eating, Entertaining and I enjoy each part as much as the others.

Besides restaurants, my favorite places to go when we travel is to grocery stores or markets.  I love having the time and ability to look at all the exquisite products that are foreign to me or something that I’ve been searching for a long time! Walking the aisles discovering new and exciting things to try is simply exhilarating.

I think my husband has come to accept that whenever we travel we will most definitely go to a grocery store to check it out. 

Here’s some of my favorite food shopping pictures:

Photobucket
Tony with American Style Hot Dogs in Portugal

 

Photobucket
The Market near Prai das Macas, Portugal

 

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket
My melon in Portugal

 

Photobucket
Fish counter in Portugal

 

Photobucket
The Beer Aisle – Tony and Dan Loved this! You could buy 24 Super Bock Beer for about $5.00 Canadian!

 

Photobucket
A slightly less scruffy Tony with All Day Breakfast – sausages and beans

 

Photobucket
Tony with The Full Monty – I’m not exactly sure what was in this one.

 

Photobucket
The Cheese Shop Iain Mellis in St Andrews, Scotland

 

Photobucket

Photobucket

Leave a Reply

