Amazing Energy Bars

Yesterday we had a small 75th birthday party for a long time volunteer at the organization that I work for. A former co-worker joined us for the party and brought some squares that looked a bit too wholesome to taste delicious. But you know, to be polite I decided to try one and DAMN! They were DELICIOUS!  I made a couple modifications to the recipe and they’re one of my favorite quick-to-bake items at the moment.

Photobucket

Energy Bars
Ingredients
  
1 cup peanut butter
1 egg
1/3 cup margarine
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup corn syrup
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/3 cup wheat germ
3 2-1/2 cup rolled oats I made up the additional1/2 cup by adding sliced almonds and enough sesame seeds to fill the 1/2 cup.
1 cup chocolate chips
1/2 cup sunflower seeds
1/2 cup raisins craisins
1/3 c unsweetened coconut
 
 
Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Cream peanut butter and margarine. Beat in corn syrup, brown sugar, egg and vanilla. Stir in all other ingredients. Press into a greased 9X13 pan and bake for 20 minutes. Cut into squares while still warm.

Photobucket

Check out that melty-chocolatey-nuty-fruity-seedynessness…. mmmmm delicious
 
For something relatively healthy these sure are good. They have a great chewiness with a bit of crunch from the nuts. I love the textures of all the ingredients! I’ll probably improvise a bit more next time and add some other types of seeds/nuts/ healthy stuff. Maybe hemp hearts?!
 
What would you add to the mix?
2 thoughts on “Amazing Energy Bars

  1. WOW. This is just the recipe I was looking for! Fantastic!

    Although I’m not sure I would add anything. I might take away the chocolate chips and possibly add another dried fruit. And/or use light corn syrup…

    Regardless, I am doing this. My husband will LOVE this recipe!

  2. I have been wanting to make something like this. I saw an Alton Brown episode several weeks ago where he goes through the ingredients in store-bought energy bars (horrible!!!) and then made them on his own – much healthier! thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

