Cheddar Dill Scones

 
Photobucket

All afternoon when I was trying to work on my budget my mind kept wandering to what I was going to make for supper tonight. I didn’t have anything planned so I went through the potential list.

The only change that I made was to use cheese curds rather than chopped up cheese.

Curry, honey mustard chicken?

Spaghetti?

Finally I decided that I wasn’t in the mood for anything too adventurous and settled on broccoli cheese soup with some type of bread product.  So then the search went on again.

Sandwiches?

Biscuits?

Croissants?

After a bit of searching I settled on the the amazing looking cheddar dill scones by Annie’s Eats. I had saved the entry in my reader and was dying to try them.

 Photobucket

Cheddar Dill Scones
Ingredients:
2 cups plus 2 tsp. all-purpose flour
1 tbsp. baking powder
1 tsp. salt
12 tbsp. cold unsalted butter, diced
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
1/2 cup cold heavy cream
4 oz. extra sharp yellow cheddar cheese, diced small I used about 6 oz cheddar cheese curds, chopped coarsley
1/2 cup minced fresh dill  I used closer to 3/4 c dill
1 egg beaten with  tbsp. water or milk, for egg wash I didn’t use the egg wash, simply because I forgot

Directions: 
Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Combine 2 cups of flour, the baking powder, and salt in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment.  Add the butter and mix on low speed until the butter is in pea-sized pieces.  Whisk together the eggs and heavy cream and quickly add them to the flour-and-butter mixture.  Combine until just blended.  Toss together the cheddar, dill, and 2 teaspoons flour and add them to the dough.  Mix until they are almost incorporated.

Transfer the dough to a floured work surface and knead for 1 minute, until the cheddar and dill are well distributed.  Roll the dough into a 3/4-inch thick, 8-inch square.  Divide into 4-inch squares and then cut those in half diagonally to make triangles.  Transfer the dough triangles to the prepared baking sheet.  Brush the tops with egg wash.  Bake in the preheated oven for 20-25 minutes, until golden and the inside is fully baked.

The scones turned out quite well, but I was scared of overmixing the dough so I kinda crammed stuff together at the end and that probably wasn’t the best idea because they were a bit floury in some spots. I loved the amount of dill I used. I’m a dill-a-holic, so the more, the better! I overdid it with the cheese curds, but really enjoyed the way it puffed up and became crunchy in some areas.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

